This chicken dish contains 0.00% meat – are you kidding me?

You’ve probably heard of Yum Yum Instant Noodles or even tried them. The taste and concept are controversial for many and a look at the ingredients list also raises the question of whether Yum Yum Vegan Noodles Or at least vegetarian. Additionally, most varieties already have the terms “Chicken” or “Duck” in their names. We’ll explain what’s actually on the ingredient list and whether instant noodles are vegan.

Here’s what you’ll learn about Yum Yum Noodles

Yum Yum noodles – that’s what makes them special

If you’ve never heard of Yum Yum noodles, here’s a brief description of the instantly popular dish. Yum Yum Noodles are instant noodle soups originating from Thailand. They are usually from Wan Thai Foods Industry Company produced and sold in different countries.

Yum Yum noodles can be eaten in different ways. However, it is intended to pour some boiling water on them. In this way, the noodles are cooked and a sauce is created from the added spices. There are currently many other recipe ideas for instant noodles. They also taste good in salads or soups, for example.

Yum Yum Instant Noodles
Yum Yum noodles are usually available in small plastic packets as instant noodles. Photo: Getty Images via

Different varieties of yum yum noodles

Another special feature of crispy pasta is wide range of flavors. The noodles are actually always the same. However, the spice varies. We’ve put together a small roundup of the most popular types of Yum Yum noodles here. Yum Yum noodles are available in the following flavors:

  • Chicken
  • duck
  • VEAL
  • shrimp
  • vegetable
  • curry
  • Grilled chicken
  • Siracha chicken
  • Japanese chicken
  • seafood
  • Spicy seafood
  • kimchi

Are Yum Yum Noodles Really Vegan?

With such a large selection of different varieties, which at first glance all contain meat – at least when it comes to the name – it’s easy to lose track. But do these varieties really contain what is in the name?

This is not entirely true. Noodles are called chicken, beef, duck and so on, however, they do not contain real meat. Instead, the spice mixes that come with the noodles contain some spices that are said to taste like the meat of the animals in question.

So are Yum Yum noodles vegan? To get to the bottom of this question in more detail, we need to see Take a closer look at the ingredients list for the noodles. As an example, we have chosen the ingredients of the beef variety:

  • wheat flour
  • Palm oil (contains antioxidants: E319, E320)
  • tapioca starch
  • Salt
  • cabbage
  • garlic
  • Flavor Enhancer: E621, E631E627
  • sugar
  • acrid
  • pepper
  • star anise
  • Ginger
  • Cinnamon
  • glucose syrup
  • Soy sauce powder (soybeans, wheat, glucose syrup, maltodextrin, coloring: E150c, acid: E330)
  • Acidity regulators: E500, E452, E451
  • acidifier: E296
  • Ink: E150c
  • Aroma
  • Thickness: E466
  • yeast extract
You can design a homemade ramen just the way you like it. And it’s also significantly healthier than delicious noodles. Photo: imago/UIG images

At first glance, you can’t see anything here that isn’t vegan. However, you should watch it first indecipherable e-substances I judge. Like many types of yum yum noodles, the beef variety contains both Flavor enhancers E621 and E631.

In most cases, these substances are obtained from fish, often sardines. Thus, Yum Yum noodles containing these two flavor enhancers are not vegan.

This is the best plant-based protein

Bottom line: Only trust products with a vegan stamp – even with Yum Yum noodles

If you lead a vegan lifestyle, Yum Yum noodles are probably not for you. You don’t have to be sad about it, after all, it tastes good a fresh, vegan ramen is certainly betterbut above all it is significantly healthier.

Like many instant products, Yum Yum noodles are also not certified vegan. Therefore, as a vegan, you’d better keep your hands off products without this stamp.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *